Training Update – 10/23/13

Snow has been in our forecast over the last week or so however we have been lucky enough to not see anything on the ground yet.  For many people in my area of the country we find extra excuses this time of the year to put off training with the thought that we’ll continue it when spring comes.  If you’ve ever visited the Midwest in the spring, you’d know that spring can come any time between March and June depending on the year.  With my race plans for 2014 beginning to take shape, I’m making the committment to staying in great shape throughout the winter to ensure I’m fully ready when I find the starting line for the first time in 2014.

I have still not developed much of a training plan for the “off-season” months other than I’m going to do long runs of 10 miles, 12 miles, 14 miles, 16 miles and then start back over at 10 again.  My current training has had me running 5.25 Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, then lifting on Tuesday and Thursday, and getting my long run on either Saturday or Sunday (weather pending) and the other day being my rest day.  So far I’m pleased with where it has taken me, however I do not like mundane plans and am looking to change it up.  Before I write on here again, I plan to map out the next few months knowing it may change due to different circumstances but having it written down.  My current lifting routine for the next three weeks is as follows:

Day 1:
Superset 1: Barbell Lunges (8 reps), Dumbbell Flys (8 reps), Bicycle Crunches (30 reps)Superset 2: Slide Board Leg Curls (8 reps), Single Arm Bent Over Rows (8 reps), Toe Touches (30 reps)
Superset 3: Alternating Hammer Curls (10 reps), Overhead Triceps Extensions (10 reps), Supermen (20 reps)

Day 2:Superset 1: Squats (8 reps), Alternating Extension Bench Press (8 reps), Diagonal Crunches (30 reps)
Superset 2: Single Leg Press Machine (8 reps), Seated Rows (8 reps), Leg Raises (25 reps)
Superset 3: Dumbbell Pullovers (10 reps), Front Raises (15 reps), Scissor Kicks (30 reps)

Time to put my head down and figure out this training plan for the off-season.  Please feel free to share your thoughts and suggestions on what you would suggest.  Either way I feel like by continuing my weekly mileage I will be in a much better spot come time for the marathon training to ramp up.  Until next time…Happy Running!

gym icon

Leave a Reply

