Post Marathon Recovery & Getting Started Again

After any race that I have done no matter the distance (sprint triathlon to half-Ironman triathlon to marathon) I find it tough to let my body recover doing easier or no workouts. I have just put in months of training building up my weekly distance and time commitment, only to force my body to slow down.  Experts will argue how much time you should allow yourself away from running and I believe it varies amongst the person.  If you’ve been running awhile and are feeling a little burnt out I don’t think there is a problem with taking a few week break before resuming your training plan to get that spark and excitement back for running.

After running the Sioux Falls Marathon, I had to drive 3 1/2 hours back to Fargo before I was off to San Francisco the very next day for a week long conference for work.  Spending nine hours in the airport and airplanes was necessarily what I would suggest to friends after running a marathon.  My legs felt surprisingly well the during my travel day to San Francisco and except for a little soreness after the 4 1/2 hour stretch from Chicago to San Francisco, I don’t think I hobbled too noticeably.  Like anyone who works out knows, usually it is the second day after a race or hard work where your legs feel the worst.

I brought my running clothes with to San Francisco as I didn’t want to take the whole week off so when I awoke Wednesday and felt considerably less sore I put on my running clothes and headed down to the gym at the hotel. I knew running outside could leave me very vulnerable if I was any considerable distance from the hotel if a sore muscle or tired legs would surprisingly show up.  I ended up running for 2.25 miles, which seemed to drag on forever.  On Thursday my legs seemed to be back to normal so I took off towards the Bay Bridge and ended up putting 6.33 miles in along the pier.  This picture was taken right before I headed back to the hotel.

photo(7)

I was able to get one more run in San Francisco before I headed back home to the Midwest.  I’m back in my routine of running 5-6 times a week, but however next week I will include two days of strength training and will cut my running down to 3-4 times.  I plan to create my training plan that will get me through Christmas here in the next days and will share it on the blog once it is complete.  I don’t plan on running another race until the spring unless I’d pick up a short 5K or 10K here with the wife, however I’d like to continue to build my base and have my springtime training for my marathon make this past training look wimpy.  I need to be stronger over the last 1/3 of the marathon and I’m determined to make it happen.

Please share any questions or comments below and I will be happy to answer them. Until next time, Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

