July 10th Training Update

With less than two months to go until my next race, the Sioux Falls Marathon, my training is kicked into high gear.  My training plan has me running 5 days a week with Thursdays and Sundays being my rest days.  Monday’s are a speed workout day with my plan calling for 16 x 400’s with a 2 mile warm-up and 1 mile cool down. Most people might find it weird but I enjoy speed workouts with repeats as it breaks it up and allows me to stay focused on one thing at a time.  While racing I try to do the same thing breaking the long race up into smaller chunks that make the total race more manageable.

Tuesdays are a 5-6 mile recovery run after the speed workouts on Monday.  Most people wouldn’t call these “short” runs but that is what they are for me.  Wednesdays I would consider my tempo run days. For this workout today I had a two mile warm-up followed by 3 reps of 2 miles run at a fast pace with a 3 minute break between reps. These workouts like my speed workouts have 1 mile cool down at the end.  After a rest day on Thursday, Friday is similar to Tuesday in that I just go for a short run to get the legs going again.  The distance again is usually in the 5-7 mile range.

Saturday is when I let it all hang out. Okay it’s not as bad as it sounds but Saturday is my distance day.  Each week I’m usually adding 1-2 more miles on than the previous week and it’s my chance to simulate different nutrition ideas in an effort to understand my body better for race day.  My training plan usually has these runs set a “steady” pace, however my goal is usually to run a solid first half of the distance and then run the second half based on how my body is feeling.  I’m more worried about getting the distances in than my speed but when my body is feeling good like it usually does it’s nice to come home strong.

I have also been using my foam roller from TP Therapy on a regular basis to help my muscles stay loose and ready for the training.  Doing this is a new practice for me since about early June so I’m not an expert yet, but I do feel like I’m making good strides in taking better care of my body ahead of time so it will limit my injuries.  I’ve also been doing some research about different supplements that I plan to start taking to help with joints and also recovery.  I plan to discuss my findings in a future post regarding the supplements and the effects I feel once I begin taking them.  If you would like to share any experience of supplementation that you have done to be proactive about your body’s health and prevent injuries please leave it in a comment below.  I look forward to many more miles in July and early August as I get prepared to hopefully BQ in Sioux Falls!

Leave a Reply

