Swanson Vitamin’s Grass-Fed, Certified rBGH-Free Chocolate Whey Protein Powder Review

Growing up I have always had issues putting weight on. I know this is not the normal problem facing much of society but as an athlete I wanted extra weight to help make my hits hurt a little bit more the corners during the hockey season (for the record I don’t think I was ever able to make someone remember me from the hits I gave).  No matter what I tried, protein shakes, extra lifting, eating 3,000-4,000 calories a day, you name it not an extra ounce was gained.  Through all my trials and no successes by my standards I did learn some things.  The more protein in my diet, the less often I would be “starving” and crave more food (Again I don’t want to lose any weight but I also don’t have the time to eat 24/7).

When I began running longer distances again, my metabolism seemed to speed up yet again. I’m 6’2″ and 150 lbs on a good day and the last thing I need is a faster metabolism. Ask my wife and she will tell you I can eat all day every day and the worst of foods for your body and not gain an ounce; she is astonished.  I decided to look for a protein powder to use in shakes that would give me some extra protein to keep me more full longer.  Since I started my new job at Swanson Health Products, I thought I should look at the products we carry and see if it matched what I was looking for.  Although finding healthy options at the store, a restaurant, or online are not always the cheapest option, I was torn about going all organic, grass-fed, and rBGH-free but I thought I’d give it a try.  A few guys at work had great things to say about our Grass-Fed, Certified rBGH-Free Chocolate Whey Protein Powder so I bit the bullet and ordered some.

When I mixed up my first shake using water it blended well and had a great flavor.  Protein powders can not always have the best of flavor but I actually enjoyed drinking this one.  In future drinks I have used milk which makes it a little thicker but still continues to mix well and taste great.  The biggest thing that I have noticed about this powder is that it makes me feel more full for a longer period of time.  I will have a shake as a post-run recovery or during the mid-afternoon when I get that “2:30 feeling” and be satisfied until my next meal.  Of course the great thing about Swanson Health Products is the quick shipping; their Google trusted store badge shows orders leave in one day from their warehouses.  Plus with a 365 day return policy if you are not 100% satisfied, they will refund your money.  If you are into saving money too, sign up for their email list or like them on Facebook as they are always running promotions.

I’m now on my 3rd tub of the protein powder and still am receiving the great quality product that I’ve become accustomed to. If anything changes I will let you know and update this post, otherwise best of luck with your training and learning your nutritional needs.

Leave a Reply

