Keep An Extra Eye Out!

As summer arrives there will be billboards and radio commercials reminding drivers to keep an extra eye out for motorcycles as they can be tough to spot sometimes.  After my run today, I also want to encourage drivers to keep an extra eye out for people out walking, running, biking, rollerblading, etc.

Today, while running up 45th St in Fargo and approaching 33rd Ave, just like I do at ever intersection I peek behind me to make sure there are no cars coming up that’ll be making a right turn.  Although I would have the right away, the cars turning off a busy street can sometime feel rushed and the last thing I want to do is be apart of an accident.  I peeked back and noticed no cars were coming and drew my attention to any vehicles that would be coming up to the stop sign on 33rd ave.  There was a white Buick that was coming down the street and I focused on the driver as to make sure he could see me as I begun to cross the street.  He slowed considerably and appeared to be stopping at the white line, where a car should stop. I thought he saw me and was slowing to give me the right away to cross like any pedestrian in a crosswalk has the right to.

With each step I took he got closer and was passing that white line at what I would guess was 5 mph.  I was now within a stride or two of being in front of his car and a rolling stop was what it looked like he was going to do.  I glanced back and forth between the driver and his wife who was the passenger.  Her eyes were huge and looked like she was trying to scream at him.  I tried to stop myself as hard as I could and got ready to jump in the air to hopefully land on his hood and not have my legs clipped at the knees if he got any closer.  He finally and suddenly stopped not more than 15 or so inches away from me, screeching the tires.  I stopped, he stopped and looked at me in terror.  I took a step around the vehicle and continued on my run.  One more step however and he would have got me right in the knees.

I’m not a person that swears the pedestrian is always right or should think of themselves as invincible. However, I do want drivers to be aware though that they are suppose to stop behind the line (which is before or even with the stop signs) and not proceed until they are sure they are clear and won’t block the crosswalk.  Luckily, I stopped in time, however a young kid that maybe wasn’t paying as much attention might not have been so fortunate. Please, slow down, take your time, and let’s be sure all the adults, kids, and families enjoying the outdoors and those in their vehicles have a safe and fun summer!

Leave a Reply

