Motivation Starts From Within

“Great moments are born from great opportunity.
And that’s what you have here tonight, boys.
That’s what you’ve earned here, tonight.
One game.
If we played ‘em ten times, they might win nine.
But not this game. Not tonight. Tonight, we skate with ‘em.
Tonight, we stay with ‘em, and we shut them down because we can!

Tonight, we are the greatest hockey team in the world.
You were born to be hockey players — every one of ya.
And you were meant to be here tonight.
This is your time.
Their time — is done. It’s over.
I’m sick and tired of hearin’ about what a great hockey team the Soviets have.
Screw ‘em!
This is your time!!

Now go out there and take it!”

~Herb Brooks, 1980’s US Olympic Hockey Coach

As I write my first blog post, I remind myself of my favorite inspirational quote.  I will admit that the movie, Miracle, educated me about this great feat in American sports history, however this movie is a great example by how I feel we should live our lives.  In this world, people expect us to fail and I believe people find a sense of relief to see others fail.  Growing up I had an incredible support group of family and friends that wanted to see me succeed and I’m very thankful for that.  Of course my parents were my biggest supporters, but also were the first people to inform me of when I screwed up.  I grew up trying as hard as I could to succeed at whatever task was in front of me: doing my best at sports practice, getting good grades, or living my life as a human here on earth.

I remember hearing many times growing up that “the real world is tough and not easy.”  Growing up with the support staff I had, I had a hard time thinking what the comment meant.  Was the only people who were going to like me end up being the support  staff that I already knew? I often pondered over why the world could not be as encouraging as my support staff was, whether they were a close friend or complete stranger.  Why are new’s stories more often about people screwing up?  Our society is more focused on seeing everyone else fail, rather than reaching a hand out and helping someone in need.

I am moved by the minority of people who I meet, know, or hear of that are embracing the complete opposite.  Less worried about themselves, they wake up everyday to better the world.  I challenge you, as I challenge myself every morning, to reach out and help someone in need or make a difference.  This doesn’t mean giving away your life savings or any money at all.  A courteous hi or hello to someone who might not be expecting it is a simple gesture that can better this world.  I can’t force motivation on you though, you must discover from within what is important to you.

Leave a Reply

